Love in the City

by

Our February “City Flavor” writing contest with Trazzler and the SFCVB is picking up steam with “Love in the City” as the second of five themes to inspire your literary muse.  Our guest micro-essayist today is McKenzie Ward, who works in our home office in San Francisco.

I fell in love with the city of San Francisco many years ago as a child visiting friends and family.  I knew from a very young age that I would one day move to this great city and call it my own.  Eleven years ago I packed up the U-Haul and made my way south from Oregon ready for the next big chapter of my life.  Little did I know that San Francisco would not only be a main character for my own youthful adventures – but also for romance and love.

The streets of San Francisco were an ideal spot for meeting my soul mate, Scott.  The San Francisco skyline and the Golden Gate Bridge were the backdrop to my engagement. My wedding took place in what in my view is the most romantic and iconic space in San Francisco – City Hall. And our friends and family celebrated our marriage with us on the 8th floor terrace at Hotel Vitale overlooking the San Francisco Ferry Building and the expansive Bay Bridge.  

For me, San Francisco has been the love of my life. It introduced me to my true love and brought us closer, and has been the always stunning (and full of heart) protagonist in my own tales of true romance.

Leave a comment